

Representing the Districts of Kenora, Rainy River and Thunder Bay

P.O. Box 10308, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 6T8 www.noma.on.ca

p. 807.683.6662 e. admin@noma.on.ca

April 22, 2021

The Hon. Omar Alghabra PC, MP, Minister of Transport Canada

The Hon. Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities

The Hon. Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance

The Hon. Maryam Monsef, Minister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development

The Hon. Caroline Mulroney Minister of Transportation

The Hon. Greg Rickford Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Indigenous Affairs

VIA: Email

Dear Ministers.

The Northern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA) strongly supports the recommendations put forward in the Coast-to-Coast Bus Coalition proposal. NOMA has long advocated for intercommunity transportation for Northwestern Ontario. While the proposal is indeed coast-to-coast, it would also be of great importance to transportation services throughout Northwestern Ontario as it will connect 19 municipalities in our catchment to a national transportation network.

This service would connect all Canadians and increase intercity travel throughout our region to aid in our economic recovery. It would increase tourism, connect people with new job opportunities, create more potential employees for businesses, and connect students to our educational institutions. More importantly, this would help people more readily access healthcare and other essential services. This proposal could improve gaps in the Ontario bus service, in coordination with Ontario Northland and smaller Northern bus and train services. We request that the Ministers receive our recommendation to support this proposal.

We appreciate your time with this matter. Should you wish to discuss this matter further please let me know.

Sincerely,

Wendy Landry

Wendy Landry, President, NOMA Mayor, Municipality of Shuniah

CC: The Hon. Patty Hajdu MP Thunder Bay-Superior North Michael Gravelle, MPP Thunder Bay – Superior North

The Hon. Robert Staubin, MP The Hon. Wayne Easter, MP The Hon. Gudie Hutchings, MP

The Hon. Kody Blois, MP

The Hon. Kevin Lamoureux, MP The Hon. Patrick Weiler, MP

The Hon. Vance Badawey, MP

Kasper Wabinski, Kasper Transportation